Escapists, what are you OTHER interests?

Pages 1 2 NEXT

We're all well aware of the shared hobby that brings us together in these forums, but I'd like to imagine there's a bit more to us than videogames; what are some of your hobbies/interests/passions outside of gaming? Share pics/vids if applicable!

For me, it's playing the piano, below are a couple of videos I recorded about a year ago for my family back home.

This one is from the movie "Her," written by Arcade Fire. Not a particularly great movie, but this piece certainly captured my imagination.

And this one is by a group called Balmorhea. The sheet music didn't exist anywhere (as far as I could tell at the time,) so this is a cover I worked out by ear last year.

EDIT: Had to fix my links!

I'm glad you created this thread. I've been meaning to but..well, procrastination and doubt goes a long short way nowhere..fast?

I'm a bit of an amateur rockhound, metaldetectorist , a Numismatic collector, a Sci-Fi/Fantasy reader (sometimes hopeful writer) and "watcher", an amateur programmer, Mushroom picker/nature photographer, A cat lover (not that way..though yes, I could be called a Furry, but NO Not That Way..) and overall Space and Tech enthusiast. In the sense that I enjoy the multitudinous aspects of all that space can bring about. Especially together with advanced technology, like Transhumanism.

I do this:

And this:

I'm currently trying to make a full time career out of the first one.

I have a kid. Extra curricular activities are generally off the table now.

When I get the time, board games are great. Also, been passing that love onto my kid.

I listen to a lot of history books and videos. So maybe that too

Movies are a big one (I review them on a very irregular basis in the User Reviews section here).