Your life events through the life of The Escapist

Pages 1 2 NEXT

I've been coming to this site for a long time. Looking back, I've had a lot of things happen in my life over the last 10 years. I joined when I was still living with my parents, and working as a game tester for Microsoft (Lol Too Human, does anyone even remember that game?), and as the years progressed, I moved out to a house with some highschool friends, got a job at a warehouse for a year and then got into IT work. Now I have plans to buy my own house in the next year or two because I just landed an IT job that looks like it will take care of me quite well.

So what's happened to you since you joined? Are you in a better place or worse?

That Yatzhee at one point destroyed my enthusiam for gaming and replaced it with cynicism and jadedness.

Something I am trying to get out of. But other youtubers shitting on the gaming industry is not helping matters.

2008 is when I graduated college...

I too am trying (though I am currently failing) at buying a house. This is kind of a shit market right now for buyers where I'm at at least and I'm right on the edge where the houses I can afford are beaten up and kind of janky (which are being bought by flippers, leaving people like me out in the cold) and the houses I can juuuuuust barely not afford are actual livable homes.

Second profile so, yeah, I've been around a decade as well.

Ten years ago I had hope. Now, well...now I'm a cynic who hopes for Star Trek but thinks Alien is more likely.

Well, I did stop doing all that heroin, so there's that. The Escapist was a big part of giving me something to do while I cut myself off from that particular social circle. Thanks escapist.
Other things have happened, but I'd say that was probably the most significant. Most other things that have happened can be linked back to that anyway.