Best sci-fi pen & paper RPG you've come across?

I'm looking for suggestions for a pen & paper RPG system (and ideally world) set in a primarily Science Fiction setting.

I've got a lot of experience with World of Darkness games which I like and the standard D&D stuff. Just wondering if anyone out there has found anything interesting they like playing.

Ideally I'm after a fast fun system that is set in a space or high-sci-fi setting.

I've heard that Paranoia is quite good.

so dungeons and dragons, but sci-fi?
does such a thing exist?

Greyfox105:
does such a thing exist?

d20 Future, Star Wars d20, Twilight 2000

eatenbyagrue:

Greyfox105:
does such a thing exist?

d20 Future, Star Wars d20, Twilight 2000

what's with the d20s?
dammit, why is my field of knowledge so limited?!!
Damn You Vader!

rossatdi:
I'm looking for suggestions for a pen & paper RPG system (and ideally world) set in a primarily Science Fiction setting.

I've got a lot of experience with World of Darkness games which I like and the standard D&D stuff. Just wondering if anyone out there has found anything interesting they like playing.

Ideally I'm after a fast fun system that is set in a space or high-sci-fi setting.

Paranoia's fun if you find getting killed... a LOT, ya know, entertaining (and it is).

My favorite would be Shadow Run. It's a fairly simple dice system (d6 only, the better you are, the more d6 you get for a roll), it's got a fun combat system, and a really sweet setting and story.

Serenity's a good one too, but ShadowRun is by far my favorite.

Oh, yeah, and there are the d20 systems, which are fairly easy to smash together to form what you want. (d20 Past, Modern, Future, Apocalypse, etc).

Paranoia sounds hilarious. My group loves back stabbing.

Koeryn:

Oh, yeah, and there are the d20 systems, which are fairly easy to smash together to form what you want. (d20 Past, Modern, Future, Apocalypse, etc).