What facts about yourself do you bring up in conversations with people?

Pages 1 2 NEXT

So, you've just met this guy/gal. Never seen them before, but now you're chatting and introducing yourself.

What are those few boasts or prideful bits of information you like to drop in to impress them?

Mine are:
I play Piano
I've been to Peru for a month (trekked for five days)
I write
I draw
I compose

I try to do this, I really do, but it always sounds incredibly arrogant when I do it, so I don't do it unless people specifically ask for it.

I have been on TV a couple of times, so that's a good one, assuming they ask me, because if I just go "Hey, I've been on TV!" I just sound like a massive egotist.

I generally provide my experiences on the topics that the other person chooses to include in the conversation. However if pressed, I mention that I'm an amatuer actor, and that I am studying law.

Furburt:
I try to do this, I really do, but it always sounds incredibly arrogant when I do it, so I don't do it unless people specifically ask for it.

I have been on TV a couple of times, so that's a good one, assuming they ask me, because if I just go "Hey, I've been on TV!" I just sound like a massive egotist.

grats on 26,000th post!

OT: i play piano, but i rarely bring that up in conversation... i mostly ask about whoever i'm talking to, instead of talk about myself.

I have no idea. I don't do any activities that would be interesting, I usually find out about them and expand my knowledge on it.

minxamo:

grats on 26,000th post!

Oh yeah...

Thanks, I guess. I'm starting to worry about that post count, I really am.

wonder how long this'll take to become a self-congratulatory wank-fest of people saying how awesome they think they are.

i just tend to focus on the other person, as selling myself is probably better achieved just by showing how I am rather than bringing up what i can do

the time i spent at university and some of the stories that came from it. such great times