Don't call yourself an otaku, please

Pages 1 2 NEXT

I'm currently studying japanese in school, and my teacher told me something quite interesting in one of our lessons.

The teacher does this thing where he asks the students if he'd rather that he calls them by some sort of nickname, so a guy in my class yells out that he wants to be called "otaku". The teacher starts laughing at him, and then asks if he knows that he'd be making quite the fool out of himself if he referred to himself as an otaku. Otaku isn't being someone who likes japan, or being just a geek. It's pretty much being a basement dweller, someone who has a passion for something and for that thing alone. Being an otaku is according to the japanese not something to be proud of.

So, rather than just taking one word away from you, I'll give you a replacement. Refer to yourself as a "manga tsu" instead, that pretty much means that you're someone who really likes manga, but not on the extreme level of an otaku. Now of course, if you actually don't have any life other than sitting in your basement, with no friends, watching anime and reading manga all day, go ahead, call yourself an otaku. Otherwise, you'd do best not to...

Just something that's been bothering me, and hopefully this will get at least one person to stop calling himself an otaku.

Yeah, I found this out the other day. In Japan, it is considered as an insult, however, in Western slang it refers to, well, us basically. Keep calling yourself it, it's fine because our version is not literal, just a slang version of it

CynderBloc:
Yeah, I found this out the other day. In Japan, it is considered as an insult, however, in Western slang it refers to, well, us basically. Keep calling yourself it, it's fine because our version is not literal, just a slang version of it