Physics question

wondering if anyone can help me with a project I'm working on for my 3d space and design class (I'm an art student) [perhaps I'll be working at starbucks in a few years].

anyway, i recall in my high school physics class there was a theory that the universe could be on a 1D line that has been infinitely folded to take up all space or some such.

just wondering if anyone could tell me the name of said theory, explain it, or point me in a direction where i can read up about it...

thanks in advance

I think that you may be referring to Einstein's Theory of Relativity which talks about how space and time are curved. My discipline does not touch on it, but I do know that it is extremely complex once you get into the details of it. How much do you need to know for your project?

about enough to justify why i have a squiggly line sculpture, and how the universe could be described as a continuous line, and enough to answer any questions that may be asked.

i found this video that might be helpful http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SJJhHknEDPY but any actual academic research would be a help
\

Space-filling curve, it has many variants; i.e.

*Hilbert space-filling curve
*Moore curve
*Peano Curve
*Z-order curve
*Sierpiński curve

The concept your allegedly pursuing is, only a point in Hausdorff space is isomorphic to a point in a continuous line segment.

I doubt the formulas or theorems would be of any use to you. But there are java applications and other programs that let you simulate them in any number of arbitrary dimensions.

Since you are an art student, and you can probably write some pseudo-sciency stuff instead of the real theorems.

String theory mentions different dimensions. Our entire universe could be a plane in another dimension, and how you go from plane to line is really up to you.
Seen from a long enough distance, the plane would resemble a line.

The strings themselves bend and twist in many shapes, that's gold for pseudo-science :)