10.8% (18)
10.8% (18)
I'm sticking with English
27.7% (46)
27.7% (46)
Want to vote? Register now or Sign Up with Facebook
Poll: Rolling R's and Pronouncing L's

Pages 1 2 3 NEXT

Bit of an odd question. So i'm trying to teach my gf how to say a few words in japanese but she can't roll her R's. it's been 20 min. and she's not even close. I'm also applying for teaching positions in japan to be an english teacher so i know the issue of L's is gonna come up, what do you guys think is harder?

Well, I don't know Japanese, but I have played around with a few European languages that had the rolling R sound, but that was easy for me. However, my bf can't do it to save his life. Some people just can't, I suppose.

On a sort of unrelated note, I've been studying Chinese for 4 years now and there are so many sounds that I still mess up. Like tones, and certain words like 'qu' (pronounced: Chew, but more emphasized) And remembering the difference between words like 'zuo' and 'zou' and 'dou' and 'duo' and 'dao'. Urgh...

Pfft, I'm from eastern(pronounced eastin) Massachusetts. L's are(ah) fine, but you're(yaw) lucky if you get the 'r'('ah') in the first(omg there's one!) place.

Rolling Rs are definitely harder. Don't people tend to use the L consonant more often than rolling their Rs?

Rolling R's. I still can't do it, and I've been trying for years. I read somewhere that rolling R's is supposed to be a genetics thing, and some people just can't do it.

I'm one of those unfortunates. I took Spanish for years and not once did I roll an r. I cant pronounce most things being a New Yorkah, but I think the r is just a hereditary ailment.

As an English-speaker, I'd say rolling R's, even though I can do it perfectly fine. I'd imagine pronouncing L's would be more difficult for a Japanese speaker, though.

The Japanese don't roll Rs (well, ok, most don't, Hot Blooded types like Sanosuke Sagara do, it's not normal) so what are you doing trying to get your girlfriend to do it?