2.4% (10)
None
1.9% (8)
1.9% (8)
Want to vote? Register now or Sign Up with Facebook
Poll: Language

Pages 1 2 3 4 NEXT

Hello Escapist's,

it's been a really long time since I posted on here, most of you prbably don't even know who I am or remember me at least.

So, topic.

I'm an English teacher living in the Czech Republic, I can speak at least token amounts of ten languages.

Recently I gave a lecture on Kenneth Hale, the most famous hyperpolygot (a person who can speak 6 or more languages fluently) to have lived. He was reported to be able to converse in 50 or more langugaes when he died.

so, here's what I'm interested to know. How many of you speak a second language, third, etc. Is there a Polygot (4 or more languages) or Hyperpolygot here on the Escapist? What langugaes do you speak?

There are many dying langugaes in this world and I hope that in the future I can try and keep at least one lesser known language survive a little longer.

The languages I can speak.

Fluently- English and French
Enough to hold a conversation - Spanish, Japanese, Czech.
Enough to talk about myself and ask questions - Mandarin, German, Latvian, Italian, Russian, Welsh.

Your turn.

I realise this may make me appear arrogant but really I am a great fan of langugae, it is a hobby of mine and I like to meet people who also think other languages are important.

Also, it would be strange to have a topic like this and not have a poll.

I'm from the UK, we don't speak other languages and prefer to make everyone else learn english.

I would have loved to learn a new language but they start them too late in the UK so most people are shit at them.

Well, I used to be a Chinese (Mandarin) linguist in the army, and I can also speak German and understand Pennsylvania Dutch (a German dialect). I can understand and read Spanish, studied it for years but never had many opportunities to speak it so I'm comfortable speaking unless I have to.