13.4% (37)
13.4% (37)
No, but I want to
11.9% (33)
11.9% (33)
Want to vote? Register now or Sign Up with Facebook
Poll: A Second Language

Pages 1 2 3 NEXT

So I recently started learning the basics of Japanese for fun and the potential benefits it could bring me in the future, career wise, which got me to thinking;

How many of you folks speak a second language other than your native tongue?

Do you have any tips that you found helpful when learning?

Are you studying, or looking to study, a second language? If so, which one and why?

I speak a bit of French. And by "a bit," I mean that I took it for 6 years in high school and am doing a couple of courses in university. But I'm nowhere near proficient, as I'm not very good at learning it.

I learned Spanish and German in school, and Mandarin Chinese in the army. I can also understand Pennsylvania Dutch, though I can't really speak it. Same with Spanish, due to the shitty way they taught it in high school.

I'm probably terrible at all of these now, as my life offers pretty much no opportunities to practice or use them on a regular basis. Understanding a language, like reading and listening are generally a little easier than speaking and writing across most languages, due to being a passive versus an active skill, so it's important to practice all of these things.

I'd like to learn more languages, but I don't think I would bother with a language like Japanese or something that I rarely hear or would get the opportunity to speak and practice, just because realistically I know I likely wouldn't ever get past the intermediate stage.

Well my native language is Spanish, so obviously I do, I also know a little bit of French, but very very little, my mother does speak it though, and German too.

For me, English is a second language (french is first).