People are getting Dumber because....realtiy TV?

take a look at the comments..or even the article
http://io9.com/5960176/are-humans-getting-dumber

You know the one

"people are getting dumber!" cue list of shitty TV shows

aside form it being one of those really really annoying things you hear ALL THE FUCKING TIME...I take issue with the Idea that we as a species are getting progressively dumber, I also take issue (like alot more of an issue) when our pop culture is used for evidence of this

now I can;t say if we are or we are not, I'm no expert. But if people say "the masses" of people are stupid, how does that compare to the past? granted intelligence is hard to measure (and not always in sync with education level) but were people really "smarter" back then education was harder to get and a good majority of people were illiterate? the luxery of an education (higher levels that is) being reserved for the elite.Did crappy pulp entertainment not exist in the past? was the shallow pop music of yester year the folk music amongst peasants while the rich went to symphonies?

well anyway thats not actually my main point...just a throught

no my really point is "honey boo boo" is evidence (or cause) of all of us becoming dumber

the thing is though when people cite these shows they seem to imply the image of some drooling dumbass who lords over these "people" on screen with every bit of sincerity and without a hint of self awareness

and I get the impression this isnt always the case...hell it may not even be the majority of cases