Unrequited Love or How I'm Too Passive For My Own Good

Pages 1 2 NEXT

So, during the past year I've managed to fall quite madly in love with a girl that I'm friends with. Of course, me being me I never managed to go forward with anything during this. Now, I used to believe in the myth of how 'nice guys finish last', and I do consider myself to this day to be a nice guy. But I was always too shy to try anything; I'm not very good at talking to girls. The initial optimism of my attraction turned into pessimism as I slowly realised that this girl would never return my feelings. It tore me apart; I considered offing myself more than once. Decided against it, of course.

During this time she got a boyfriend. Now, I was prepared to hate him, but an odd thing happened. I realised that he was one of the nicest guys that I had ever met. I didn't know what to think at first, but now, I've decided that he'll make her far happier than I ever could. This should be the end of it, but I can't shake my feelings for her. Hell, some nights I just lie awake and stare at the ceiling. It hurts, is what I'm saying.

Now, what I want from you guys is some advice on how to move on, because I damn well haven't been able to by myself.

I had this problem a few years back. I think most people go through it at some point. It's a truly awful feeling isn't it? I was into this girl for about 3 years or so and I wasn't particularly happy during that time. I did come out and tell her eventually and things went alright after that, for the most part.

Eventually we started talking a lot less and it wasn't until that point where I really started to "get over her." One of my friends went through something similar and, in the end, the only thing that really worked for either of us was seeing the object of our affections a lot less. It just happened naturally, though. It's not easy to just stop seeing your friends.

You could always use the pain to inspire some kind of art, sell it, and make millions.