Lord of the Rings Online (LotRO) - A Review

Pages 1 2 NEXT

LotRO - A Review

Did you ever wonder what made Turbine bring so many players to this site to win round after round? Did you wonder what made Old time escapists post that they hate the Wii but vote for Nintendo anyway? I will try to give you an insight what made ME vote for Turbine - and what makes me stay here.

About me

I'm a male software consultant from Germany, nearly 40 years old, I have a wife and two loveable kids, a house, I wrote a book about programming and I have a 60 hour working week. I have time for anything but playing computer games.

About my gaming background

I was playing computer games for more than 20 years now. I started on a Commodore 64 and preferred adventures and round based strategy games. I spent many a night with my friends on a computer playing games like Football Manager or Empire (the ancient one ;).
Then I moved to another city, got a job and a wife and suddenly had not chance to play with my friends anymore. So I settled on games like Civ (yes, Civ 1), Colonization, Alpha Centauri etc. Additionally I started playing PBMs (yes, I sent the moves by snail mail those days).
Internet came and I started playing PBeMs. Free form story writing games e.g. And then there was WoW.

About MMOs

When I first read about WoW I thought it would be fun. But I also knew that I wouldn't have the time to play 20-30 hours a week, do a regular raiding etc. So I fought the WoW virus for more than a year. Then three months before the release of BC there was a CD with the client and a 2 week trial key. And I was hooked.