A random person's first impressions: the Just Cause 2 demo

It's been some time since I last wrote a review here (search for my Nanoha review), and while I've wanted to do more I didn't have quite enough inspiration. However, after downloading the Just Cause 2 demo in my regular scavengering browsing of the Playstation Store, I finally found just the thing to get me back in the swing of reviewing things, this time in the correct forum!

Of course, I won't be doing this alone. Instead, I'll be helped and trained back into this by a good friend of mine. Say hi, friend:
Pictured: A good friend of mine. If you watched the above video, this joke is funnier.
A random friend: Hello, forum, has anyone really been far even as decided to use even go want to do look more like?

...yeah, he's a bit odd, but really, isn't that the whole point and charm of non-expert guest reviewers?

A random friend: I'm not really good with video games, but ask me about Linux and I know what I'm talking about.
Me: It's OK, you can snark regardless of your gaming habits.

Onto the actual review, I downloaded the game since an open-world TPS interested me, and the Square Enix logo added to this curiosity (especially since I don't expect it anywhere near more "western" genres). When I started the demo, I was greeted with a cutscene involving the player character and some woman who is helping you for some reason. I can't pass judgement on the characters or plot, as neither is delved into much in the demo. Immediately afterwords there was a short (as in, 15 seconds) sequence on a helicopter, which made it very clear that you could skip it by pressing X. As Square published this, I'll go with the most amusing explanation and take it as a satirical jab at people who whine about cutscenes (I will admit that I'd prefer it to be a skydiving tutorial, though).

A random friend: At the beginning we were dumped on a desert island, and did what any sane human would do: shoot things.