SirBryghtside Reviews: Half-Life

Disclaimer: This is my first review, ever. Don't flame me!

HALF-LIFE

Half Life is an FPS in which you take up the role of silent protagonist Gordon Freeman as he tries to escape from a lab.

Or something.

The problem with Half-Life's storyline is that it is much, much too simple - and you never get the simplicity explained. While playing through it, I had the vague idea that I was a scientist, employed to do something which released aliens that I had to run away from. Then the military appear for no apparent reason - something about 'containment' - and before you know it, I'm going to the alien planet, right into the place I thought I was getting away from, before defeating a final boss for reasons still unknown to me. One of the main problems with this disorientating storyline is that it bleeds through into the gameplay - having no direction from the storyline, I felt I was aimlessly wandering from one linear air vent to another, having no idea where I was going, or indeed if I was going the right way.

I can't totally damn the storyline, because there are definitely good points - the G-Man arc, for instance, gave an air of mystery, and also giving you a chance to role-play (I was constantly trying to shoot him), followed by an amazing end sequence. So why was not knowing about G-Man better than not knowing about what was going on? It's because no one knew about G-Man. The storytelling, mostly being done by random soldiers and scientists, gets extremely frustrating - there where many times that I felt like pulling over a random person and yelling "WHAT THE HELL IS GOING ON?!" into his face, but the game just doesn't allow you to do that. This makes the scientists seem more clued up than you - worse, you feel like you should know more, as you worked in this place for God knows how many years![1]

But I digress. This game delivers in almost every way but the storytelling.