$2.50 Reviews: King Arthur (2004)

$2.50 Reviews:

King Arthur

King Arthur is a 2004 action film directed by Antoine Fuqua (Shooter). It stars Clive Owen as the title character, and follows him as a Roman knight, who, after serving 15 years, is finally to become a free man. Before he is able to accept his dispatch papers, he is told by a bishop that the Pope has ordered him and his knights to complete one final mission. They must find a family, and bring them to safety. Reluctantly, he accepts, and the knights soon set out into what is said to be certain death.

I don't really get why she's in the middle<br />She's in the film less than the other two

King Arthur is said to be historically accurate, as there have supposedly been new findings in regards to the legend. Now, I'm not an expert on the legend myself, and have only barely heard of it, so I can't refute these claims. I can however say that the film does lack excitement. I was under the impression that Arthur's tale was one of exciting battles. A character in the film even remarks at one point that Arthur has never been defeated in battle. So, why then is there only one real battle in the entire film? I would have hoped that there would have been more excitement than we are actually given.

Instead, the film attempts to be more of a drama than anything else, with characters mostly just talking while riding on horseback. There isn't anything wrong with that on its own, as dramas can often times be just as exciting as any action film. What does become a problem is the fact that most of the dialogue seems way too forced for its own good. Characters don't often talk to each other, but more often have long speeches that are only vaguely directed at the person they should be talking to. These go on for far too long and happen too often to keep the attention of the audience.