WTF Sword Art Online (Rylingo Reviews Anime)

WTF Sword Art Online
Rylingo Reviews Anime

After my Gun control episode I'm back to good old fashioned reviewing. Here's my take on 2012's most popular anime, Sword Art Online.

This is my first time watching one of your reviews and I really enjoyed your writing, though I would maybe work on the delivery a bit (your accent sometimes gets slightly too thick) and perhaps improve somewhat on the visuals. NIce job nonetheless.

As for your thoughts on Sword Art Online, I completely disagree...for the most part. The show does indeed feature some of the worst excesses of current Japanese animation like the harem tropes and the heroine with inconsistent characterization. This is all surface stuff however, and I think this is the weakest part of your review. One of the most compelling and interesting parts of Sword Art Online is it's approach to questions of reality, identity, and social stratification. These are all exemplified in both of Kirito's character arcs in the separate seasons, and it is clear they are the shows focus, as exemplified, as you noted, by how much the plot jumps around time wise.

Sword Art Online is by no means the best exemplar of anime, and I doubt that it's legacy will equal that of better shows, but it is a lot better than you give it credit for, and I don't think it should be criticized for surface details when it has bigger glaring issues like the conclusion of the second season.

This series was fucking awesome up until the first game was cleared. From then on it was shit.

Kuomon:
This is my first time watching one of your reviews and I really enjoyed your writing, though I would maybe work on the delivery a bit (your accent sometimes gets slightly too thick) and perhaps improve somewhat on the visuals. NIce job nonetheless.