Shin Megami Tensei IV Review

Shin Megami Tensei IV

Games like Shin Megami Tensei IV are the reason I started playing JRPGs again. From intuitive and strategic turn-based combat to the mind-fucked setting and themes, there isn't a whole lot to complain about if you're a fan of the genre. Having only played the Persona series myself (come at me bro), I was a bit hesitant going in considering the franchise's long history of ruthless difficulty. However, my girlfriend assured me that Shin Megami Tensei III: Nocturne's difficulty puts it to shame. After five hours of dying over-and-over in the introductory dungeon, I was about ready to call bullshit.

The Eastern Kingdom of Mikado looks to be pretty vast. Too bad we don't get to actually see much of it.

Then I started getting good. I started figuring out what did and didn't work and by the time the game world really opened up I found myself hooked for two weeks straight. As sad as it is, very few games these days offer a real sense of accomplishment after a truly challenging experience. Too often do we find ourselves so frustrated with a section in a game that we're just happy to finally put it behind us. Not with SMT IV . Considering how much goes into that strategy of every fight it's less about the luck of the draw and more about simply outsmarting and outmaneuvering the AI. Discovering and exploiting the enemy's weaknesses while trying to protect your own is the key to victory. The game can be an asshole sometimes, but for the most part it's all on you.

Beyond its difficult, yet rewarding combat, SMT IV's story is pretty damn heavy, following the Shin Megami Tensei tradition of a boy getting caught between the forces of law and chaos. While many other JRPG franchises over the years have chosen to be subtle with their religious allegories, SMT has traditionally been very in-your-face about it and the most recent entry is no different. Case-in-point, God's a fucking dick in this universe!