Democrats and Republicans...

Pages 1 2 3 4 NEXT

I know that I'm probably opening a can of worms here but I wanna know the Escapist community's thoughts on this. (This is my first time posting in the politics section, so if this is essentially a repeat of a previous thread I apologize.)

So lately I've noticed the following trend on most news sites when an article concerning Mitt Romney, Barack Obama, or any of their policies pops up.

I read the article, go down to the comments and see a never ending deluge of dems. and reps. sniping, and insulting one another. Neither side attempting to find compromise, instead finding it easier to insult, degrade, and in general just be arrogant snobs about whose party's dick is bigger.

I'm not really surprised at this as much as I am disappointed. The party gap has widened to such a degree that no one can find common ground anymore, and that divide shows no sign of narrowing anytime soon.

I mean would it really be so hard to find commonalities between political ideology, or at the very least acknowledge that one party may have a point while yours doesn't?

I wanna believe that can happen. But at the same time I know it won't, not until the leaders of said parties can stop being selfish assholes and focus on more than their mudslinging their opponents.

Your thoughts Escapist? Is the system broken? Is there still hope? Any other miscellaneous political thoughts?

You know, Obama bent over backwards for more than 3 years and now the Republicans are trying to destroy his healthcare reform by attacking an originally Republican idea that they added in to appease, the personal mandate.

That is just one little example among a vast number. But I think it really exemplifies why I think Obama's attempts to be bipartisan are so harmful. To be honest, I wish there was less bipartisanship, at least on the Democrats' side, because I cannot consider simply adopting Republican positions as bipartisanship.