I need advice for getting legal internships with game dev studios, pro gaming leagues, etc.

Hell everyone! I'm a first year law student in the U.S. and, as is the case with most law students, I plan on getting an internship over the summer. However, I'm interested in fields of law that my school's counseling center has minimal experience with: video games. I would love the chance to work for a company like Valve, or an organization like MLG, or even with the groups that arrange conventions like QuakeCon or even just a tech company like Microsoft.

The problem is, with the exception of the last thing I listed (Microsoft), I'm really not sure to what extent these various organizations have their own internal legal counsel, and to what extent they hire interns if they do. I also am not entirely sure how I would go about applying for such a thing.

Basically, if any of you know anything about how to find out more, or know of particular companies/organizations that regularly hire legal interns, I would really appreciate it. Also, I'm not necessarily looking for a straight up legal internship, even positions that are J.D. preferred, or simply where a legal degree would be of use, are of interest to me. Thank you!

Bethesda seem to be suing everyone lately, maybe they need some fresh young talent who knows the industry.

Bump

To repeat something extra credits once said, playing video games is not a compelling reason to want to work in video games.

If you do want to work in that area, it seems from a cursory examination of recruitment pages that you probably need a slightly above-basic knowledge of how software works, at least knowing a programming language seems to be essential, so if you don't know that already maybe look for ways to learn (you might be able to combine your degree with some computer science courses, or even go joint honours - you're early enough in that you should be able to do that fairly easily).