Asking Her Out?

Ok, so I'm a college student in my first semester and met a pretty awesome girl who attended the same high school as me and graduated the same year but i never her whole i went there. i like her and last night i invited her to dinner when another friend had to cancel on me. she said yes and we went together. only problem is I've been trying to asked her out for the past several weeks. I only see her in person twice a week, and i Planed on asking her after class since before and during class we're both surrounded by other people and busy working in class. but the pasts several weeks something as happen to interrupt my attempt's.

now I've never done this before, the few girls I've ever wanted to date were already in long running relationships before i met them. hell one got engaged before we graduated. so this is the first Available girl i've liked.

so I'm here asking for your advice on how I should go about this, any tips on how NOT to do it? any tips in general?

lastly, I know i'm asking for a lot coming to a gaming site for girl advice (you nerds in the same boat as me ) ^.^ but I would really appreciate any help you can give me here (just kidding about the nerd bit XD)

You didn't give a whole lot of information on the girl, so we'll have to stick with general stuff. I usually just ask girls straight, but if you don't want to do that you can do something called 'seeding'.

WHAT IS SEEDING?
You mention a tempting event but do not immediately invite the woman to attend. For example: casually mention a party you're going to, talk about how cool it's going to be, and move on to other topics. Then, later in the interaction, before you're about to leave, decide to invite her to come along.