Figure Drawing Advice?

Pretty much what it says on the tin: Does anyone out there with some experience in the art of figure drawing have any advice for me? Tools/Media I can try, books I check out on it, drawing exercises, or even just as simple as a reassurance that I'm just being hard on myself and that I'm going through what many other artists have.

I'm currently a second semester freshman art student, an illustration major if it helps any in your advice giving. I have to take figure drawing classes for my major and looking at my figures and my classmates' I feel like I'm a good bit behind everyone. Y'see I come from a very tiny and isolated town where the closest art gallery or art classes was a good hours drive away(With no form of transportation to get there) and despite my high school teacher's very encouraging attitude they never really presented 'proper' training, especially not figure drawing. These are the first figure drawing classes I have ever had. But I don't know if that is what has me feeling like my art is no good, or if it is a lack of talent, or me just being hard my own art.

So far I'm not failing, but I really don't want it to get to that. Whats more I know I want to draw concept art for characters or draw comics and I know that a good knowledge in figure drawing will be one of the best things I can get.

It would be nice if I could hear from others who have also taken figure drawing classes or even a professional artist who took some classes.

I'd definitely reccommend going to Life Drawing classes! Okay, so I thought it would be a bit embarassing but in actual fact everyone was really proffessional and I didn't feel embarassed at all. It really helps you work on proportion, shapes and lighting and my drawing skills have improved a great deal since then. It also gives you more freedom to actually draw what you see - there are only so many photos you can copy from!