Advice on starting out 3D art?

Well, I've been doing some photoshop stuff, but honestly, it's garbage. I keep thinking to myself that I'm not a garbage artist, but my deviant says otherwise. So I've recently gotten 3Ds Max, since I get a hefty student discount, but lo and behold I can't make heads or tails out of anything on it. I've made one scene to date, and it's not very impressive. I could post my deviantart if anyone is interested or the picture.

So any advice on how or what to start with on 3D artwork?

Try investing in a beginners book, or try Google for some tutorials to learn the basics. I'm pretty much in the same boat as you, but haven't made any scenes yet or anything, and I went to Waterstones (UK bookstore) and spent about 30 on a beginner's book that's pretty damn chunky, has all the info I need, and more, and a CD with examples of work and supplements to the lessons in the book. Not a bad investment really :).

Hmm, I guess I could do some tuts. But thing is, most of them are about making characters. I don't really care about making characters right now. Maybe in the future.

I'll tell you what my teachers in school told me.

Buy every book you can find on the subject (specifically for your app at first, I learned Maya but have since focused on Blender) and go through them until you have the basics memorized.

You should pick your focus(es) before buying advanced technique books: modeling, rigging, texturing, lighting, animation.

When you finish that you should have a decent portfolio to get an internship or an actual job.

I've got a couple of books on environmental modeling, and a pile of books on character modeling. All very good reads, most came with discs that had files for every chapters' lesson (very helpful for figuring where you messed up).