Looking for a versitile video player (software)

Dear Escapists.

I work as a volleyball coach and until recently, I started to videotape our matches my team plays. When reviewing the video material with my students I need a videoplayer that is able to slow down the clip, play it in slow-motion, play it frame-by-frame both forwards AND backwards.

Windows Media Player is utter garbage and unfortunately my favourite video player MPC cannot display frame-by-frame nor slow-motion.

I know that stuff like Adobe Premiere can do that but that stuff is way too heavy and cumbersome for this kind of usage, all I need to do is DISPLAY the video, not edit it.

I tried using VLC player but it came with some stupid malware (Sweetpacks) and since then I really do not trust that player anymore.

The video camera I use is a semi-pro DSLR Canon EOS 60D
The format is (sadly) QuickTime 1280x720 at 60 FPS

I'm open to any suggestions.
Cheers!

Hmm...that is odd. I reformat my laptop once a month or abouts. Having installed VLC several times, I can say that I've never had that happen. Where did you download it from? Because the main website has never steered me wrong when it comes to a clean install. I'll double check for you right now though. My suggestion was going to be VLC, that's why it makes me wonder. Ok, lets see...

Downloaded it. Installed it. Ran Malewarebytes on a full system scan. Nothing came up. My advice is to run a maleware scan first, then try installing it again from the main website. Off of the top of my head, I can't think of another player that can -/+ frames though. I'm sorry about that. :x

I hope this helps! :)

yeah. VLC has never messed up on me. Do that virus scan