To creep, or not to creep?

I don't think I've ever started a thread in this part of the forum, so be gentle with me. It's my first time, and I want it to be special.

So, anyway, there's this girl (I imagine 90%+ of threads on here start that way). She's a friend of a friend who I was introduced to a few weeks ago, and since then the three of us have been out for a drink together as a group. We get on really well - she's into most of the same stuff I am, can talk about comics for hours and has a seriously twisted sense of humour - and the last time we met up we spent most of the night talking to one another and ignoring the other people who were with us. Bolstered by that, I text her the next day to ask if she wanted to go for a drink with me, and she said no, she doesn't see me that way. Fair enough, I thought, and left it at that. Better to stay friends than make things awkward.

We're going out again tomorrow, with a few other friends, one of whom (the bloke who originally introduced us) has been subtly encouraging me not to give up on this girl. Now, in my experience, when a girl turns you down she's unlikely to change her mind again, but this mate of mine seems convinced that perserverance is key. I'm not sure what to do - give up on the whole thing and stay friends, or build the relantionship up to the point when I can take another shot. I don't relish the idea as being seen as obsessive or a stalkerish creep, so I'm reticent.

So what do you reckon, Escapists? Should I try my luck?

SonicWaffle:
snip