University at a later age.

Look, I won't sugarcoat it, but I fucked up. Royally.

Most people do the exact opposite of what I do. I ignored school in favor of work experience. I barely finished high school because of that and ignored pretty much the first 2/3rds of the semester in University and failed. Now I wish to fix that, but I haven't ever really figured out what I want to do in life, I could never stick to it. Hell, I have trouble sticking with 1 character in RPGs. Everything seems pretty ridiculous to me. So...I pretty much have no idea how to figure out what I want to do in life.

I studied engineering and failed because of stupid reasons (missed class a couple of times, gave up, came up with bullshit reasons why NOT to do something). The fact is however, most of the Universities in my country are quite shit. They're much more demanding than schools in other countries, but everything else is shit. It lacks a certain rigor which other schools in the west have. Everything from textbooks to lecturers are pretty dull and shitty.

Every school seems ridiculous or way too hard. I don't aspire to study something simple and have a worthless degree, since I want to invest 5 years of my life into something meaningful, if I'm going to invest at all (which I seem to be figuring out just now).

Now, at the age of 22, I want to go to University again and really make it worth my time. However, I have no idea what I want to do (I would love to study physics, but I'm definitely not fit for that). Also, I have to support my family, which is annoying, but it's not the end of the world. It's also a reason why I need to have everything thoroughly planned out and I have to extensively study ahead in order to have time for a part time job.

How did you guys figure out what you wanted to do?
Is it unreasonable to formally ask a company if I can do some shadowing in the workplace to figure out if I want to one day work for them?