20% (1)
Wait for Lenovo Y500 IdeaPad
20% (1)
20% (1)
Other
20% (1)
20% (1)
Want to vote? Register now or Sign Up with Facebook
Poll: Programming / gaming laptop advice (Medion?)

Edit: I just posted a reply to this topic to resolve it and tell interested people that I got the Medion (10th post). If you came here to give me advice: thank you, but I no longer need it. Of course, if you still want to add to the discussion: be my guest.

Dear Escapists,

I'm on the verge of buying a new laptop and I could use some advice. I'm a programmer who spends an exorbitant amount of time on my computer, so I'm willing to shell out the fairly hefty[1] sum of roughly €1700. Unfortunately, for a software engineer, I know fairly little about hardware. I realize this may not be the most obvious website for asking about my particular use case, but this is the only forum I frequent and I think a lot of laptop gamers face a lot of similar issues when picking out their machines.

Because I know I can be fairly verbose and I have a lot to ask, I'll spoiler all my questions so it's easy to skip over parts you don't want to read.

Thanks a lot for your time and any help you may have to offer!

[1] Although, as we'll see it may actually not be that big a budget for what I want.