Can someone explain colour gamut to me?

I was wanting to get myself a new monitor, and the two choices say they have 72% and 92% colour gamut. I asked on an art site and got insulted.

For a person that does webcomics and colour reproduction being important, does the 72% and 92% have that much actual difference? One of my friends told me it's mostly about printing and the 72% would be fine, but I just wanted to get confirmation.

Take this advice with a heaping of salt. I have no background in anything artistic and am in fact somewhat colour-blind. I'm simply fairly capable in the art of google-fu and spent a few minutes on your query.