Budget gaming PC (Rome 2: Total War specific)

I need to invest in a gaming PC, I'm a massive Total War series fan, however having been withdrawn from it for a few years my current laptop which won't even play Empire at the lowest level would probably self-destruct if the discs for Rome 2 were even in a 100 foot radius of it.

So I need to update, I'm in a position where I can have a tower PC and with the main purpose of this upgrade being Rome 2 I'm really looking at a gaming rig. However I'm on a rather tight budget (as in no more than 500 excluding monitor). I've been researching heavily over the last few days and I've found a place that does great prices, I've picked out most of what I need based on the Recommended power for Rome 2 and it can be done within my budget to run it at a decent level.

Having been a complete novice at this stuff I've done lots of research but still can't figure out what's best for what I need. Read a lot of stuff about AMD being great for budget but Intel being better if you can afford it, Overclocking, stability, FPS etc... But it's really all Greek to me.

Would an 3rd gen i3 dual core be better than an AMD FX Quad or Six-core?
Would a better processor be preferable to more RAM, as in would I be better off getting an i5 processor with 4GB RAM than a i3 with 8GB RAM. (Same question regarding AMD processors). I could always buy more RAM when I have the money to make up for it and it be just as good?

I'm sure graphics card wise it would be either a Nvidia GTX650 or Radeon 6670 minimum.

I can do all of this for within my budget, it's just because it's got a very specific purpose I could really do with some advice.

Thanks!

Get the best intel that you can afford. Intels are just more powerful but do cost more. That said 4GB of ram is tight to run steam + total war rome 2, you could get some bottlenecking. I would go with the Nvidia rather than the Radeon but I have only used Nvidia for years and I am a bit biased in their favour.