are abstract targets relevant enough to measure shooting performance?
Yes
66.7% (2)
66.7% (2)
No, there is a third, better option
33.3% (1)
33.3% (1)
Want to vote? Register now or Sign Up with Facebook
Poll: Is using abstract targets instead of humanoid targets relevant to measure shooting performance?

Hello Escapists,

I'm doing my master thesis on shooting performance with the Oculus Rift and various interaction methods. The three methods that I'm using are:

1) Aiming with the head, where the crosshair is always in the middle and you press the left mouse button to shoot.
2) Aiming with the mouse, where the crosshair is controlled by moving the mouse, and the left mouse button is used to shoot.
3) Aiming with the gun, where a playstation move with a gun peripheral is used to shoot.

I've chosen the that the virtual shooting gallery will be a neutral one, spawning abstract circular targets with a bullseye, one at a time. The reason I don't use humanoid targets is that they might have too much influence on the results.

My question is, is the use of these targets still relevant enough to measure shooting accuracy?
Or do you think that humanoid targets are absolutely necessary for the results to be relevant?

As an additional question, how important is it that the targets are moving in a horizontal direction? Are static targets enough? Remember, the more factors you add, the more difficult it gets to test them with enough people enough times.

So, what does your experience with FPS games tell you? Does shooting targets at a fireing range or shooting humanoid targets make any significant difference? If so, what is that difference?

Thank you for your input!

Hey there, I know there are several members here who have extensive experience with actual firearms so perhaps they'd be able to go into more details, but here are my limited thoughts.