232: Designers' Little Helpers

Designers' Little Helpers

Game designers are some of the industry's best customers and worst hardcore fans. They simply don't stick with most games long enough to appreciate them as gamers. But as Ian Schreiber illustrates, nearly every designer has one or two special games that keep him or her coming back.

Read Full Article

If there is "designeritis", there must also be something called "revieweritis". I'm a video game journalist and it's pretty damn frightening how I can relate to all that's been said in the article. Well done!

Revieweritis is a non-lethal but incurable condition, that totally decimates one's ability to have fun playing video games. Maybe not as severe as designeritis, but it's a pretty big disability. Reviewers spend long years dutifully dissecting every game coming their way, to write articles and hone their skills in journalism. It's not enough to just play the game, you have to know the game. The audience is rarely satisfied with just a plain description of the gameplay and story. They don't want to be told about a game, they want to be entertained. They want in-jokes, puns, interesting facts, trivia, "behind the scenes" stuff, exclusive content, etc. It's not enough to be a writer, you also have to be a comedian, a historian and a forensic detective.