The Escapist Presents: Epic Games - UDK

Epic Games - UDK

Mark Rein, VP of Epic Games, talks to us about Unreal Development Kit - a free version of Epic's Unreal 3 engine available to all up and coming video game makers.

Watch Video

It's so great they decided to launch UDK. I like it a lot more than Unity.

I have messed around with it for the past couple months. I have no computer science background, or anything remotely game design and the tools were fairly easy to pick up and learn in terms of creating simple things. I obviously haven't made anything all that great, but I was able in the first 5-6 hours or so created a maze that people could walk through. I hope to go learn game design after I get a college degree and this is a great way to tide me over until then.

Awesome and now I need to learn how to code.

Rigs83:
Awesome and now I need to learn how to code.

Same, drat that whole discipline thing...

CezarIgnat:
It's so great they decided to launch UDK. I like it a lot more than Unity.

Unity has what UDK doesn't have. As they explained, maybe in the future they'll be able to compile applications into something other than PC. Unity already has this kind of support, to an extent of course.
Unity is also more practical to some, as it has a novel way of compressing and extracting java code, which makes it 20 times faster than average java. So if you are familiar with java, Unity is spectacular.
Unity also has some thirdparty software integrated, which would, by the way, cost in the thousands to lease.

However, Unity seems to not be as professional as UDK might be. There are often petite indie games released in Unity. With the exception of Interstellar Marines of course.

__
I am definitely going to try this engine out.

Nincompoop:
Unity has what UDK doesn't have. As they explained, maybe in the future they'll be able to compile applications into something other than PC. Unity already has this kind of support, to an extent of course.