The Big Picture: Hollywood History 101: Part 1

Pages 1 2 3 NEXT

Hollywood History 101: Part 1

Learn how Hollywood became Movie Central.

Watch Video

Good vid, thanks Bob

Its funny how inflexible industry juggernauts get squished by innovation from time to time...*glares at record companies*

Wow. Thank you for that. Also can't wait to see what the TV did in the next episode. It's up to something, I can feel it.

And just when I started playing "The movies: Stunts and Effects"... Maybe I can learn from this? Nah, the game doesn't have such depth.

Still very interesting episode as always. Thanks Bob.

I appreciate the vid. I usually prefer Bob's videos when he actually gets into opinion and one-man debate, but I know little enough of the early days of film for this to be worth a look.

Honestly thought the big reveal would be radio, but then I figured out that since Hollywood and radio stations existed side by side throughout the depression, that it couldn't be the culprit.

Uhum, but don't linger too much on Tv story please. There is still the silver era, the decadence of western the Hollywood crash, nowadays, I mean lot of material just about movies. Best episode so far. Waiting for part II and possible III.

this was very interesting as a huge film geek i knew a bit about the history of hollywood but moviebob just showed me i only knew the tip of the iceberg, thanks bob

I guess history repeat itself eh?

Now the big unstoppable juggernaut is very slow to adapt itself to the internet. >_>

Thanks Bob, this is helpful. I knew some of it, but it helps to have a go-to guide from an expert.

Interesting to note the similarity that came into my head to the monopolistic business practices of Nintendo in the 1980s, and how that era is similarly remembered as a "golden age" of video games...

Very very interesting Bob.

One question though. Will you be covering the HUAC affects on Hollywood in the Early 50's?