No Right Answer: Jim Sterling Says E3 Isn't Worth It

Pages 1 2 NEXT

Jim Sterling Says E3 Isn't Worth It

Shake off your E3 hangover with the incomparable Jim Sterling as he makes his triumphant return to the show. Can he convince us that E3 isn't worth it?

Watch Video

I have to admit I have a really hard time caring about E3 these days. I'm a student, I'm only going to play a handful of games a year anyway and most of the stuff I get really excited about comes in the form of trailers on youtube (see: Civilization Beyond Earth).

Pills_Here:
I have to admit I have a really hard time caring about E3 these days. I'm a student, I'm only going to play a handful of games a year anyway and most of the stuff I get really excited about comes in the form of trailers on youtube (see: Civilization Beyond Earth).

It's funny how opposite we are. As a student I had so much free time that I played virtually every major release title and even a few MMOs. Now that I'm in the workforce and require actual sleep I have less and less time for games, so the hands-on interviews that come out of E3 tell me so much more about games than the cool trailers that get thrown up. A large part of it is definitely more the fact that I'm starting a family (bachelor life always seems to involve about 500% games), but game time is starting to be an important resource I now have to manage.

I have to side with Dan in this particular discussion, even though I see Jim's point. While E3 may "bleed money", I still think that the gaming industry needs a big event with international "prestige" (don't know if that's the right word) to call its own.