Survey Says Japanese Dislike Shooters

Pages 1 2 3 4 5 NEXT

Survey Says Japanese Dislike Shooters

Famitsu has catalogued a few reasons for the poor reception shooters receive in Japan.

The latest issue of Japanese gaming periodical Famitsu features an eight-page examination of the lackluster sales of first-person and third-person shooters in Japan.

Only 74.8 percent of readers surveyed stated they had experienced an FPS or TPS, and only 51 percent of that group demographic said they wanted to play shooters. Only 38.1 percent of the Japanese gaming market enjoys one of the most profitable genres in North America.

User submitted reasons read:

• "I'm not interested"
  • "The games seem difficult"
  • "I don't know what the point of these games is"
  • "I'm worried about playing them because I'm a beginner."

Not a single submitter stated that nausea or sickness, an inaccurate yet widespread explanation for the low penetration of FPS games in Asia, was a turn off from shooters.

Source: Famitsu via Next-Gen

why didn't they include the options: "I'm a xenophobic asshole who won't touch anything designed outside of my tiny island nation" or "I'm too busy watching a cartoon octopus fornicate with a captive young girl"?

UpInSmoke:
why didn't they include the options: "I'm a xenophobic asshole who won't touch anything designed outside of my tiny island nation" or "I'm too busy watching a cartoon octopus fornicate with a captive young girl"?

I love irony.

While many Americans are xenophobic, but it's considered a negative/low-class/uneducated trait in our society. Japanese proudly and openly mistrust and refuse to buy anything non-Japanese. It's a cultural norm that we don't share.

So where is the irony?

I'm guessing it's because of the lack of exposure to guns (both cultural and legally) combined with the decades of exposure to rpg's.

Compared to the American Idolization of guns (Cowboy movies, Right to Bear arms, Hunting, Ect.)