Ice Cream That Changes Color as You Lick It? Yes, Please

Ice Cream That Changes Color as You Lick It? Yes, Please

Color Changing Ice Cream

Tired of boring, statically colored ice cream? Well, look no further.

Manuel Linares, a Spanish physicist-turned-cook, has successfully created a new kind of ice cream that changes its color while you lick it. Naming it "Xamaleon" (which means "chameleon"), he also assures that the color change is perpetrated by all natural ingredients and not by chemical additives.

Linares decided to tinker with the frozen treat while attending a course on ice cream making. When he shared his idea of a color-changing ice cream, the instructor scoffed at him. Linares responded by successfully creating an ice cream that switches from blue to magenta as it melts- bringing new meaning to the phrase "eating crow".

"As a physicist I know that there are various possibilities that might work and I was delighted when I managed to crack it and create an ice cream that changes color," he said. As of now, Linares has refused to release the full contents of the recipe. However, he has divulged some of the ice cream's ingredients, such as strawberries, banana, pistachio, vanilla, caramel, cocoa and almonds. The taste of the ice cream has been described by those who have eaten it as something resembling tutti-frutti.

The secret behind Xamaleon's color-changing ability will also remain a mystery- at least until Linares manages to secure a patent. The only fact he's chosen to share is that he uses a "love elixir" that is sprayed on the ice cream after it is made. Temperature change affects acids in the dairy product and stimulates a reaction that causes a change in shade.