NPC Stasis: Frozen in Time, or Man on a Mission?
NPC Stasis:Frozen in Time, or Man on a Mission?
NPC Stasis:Frozen in Time, or Man on a Mission?

Perhaps because I'm a writer, I spend a lot of time looking at the average passer-by and wondering what little elements shape their life. Perhaps they're on the way to the store to pick up pickles and ice cream for an expecting mother, or perhaps walking home from the funeral of a loved one. There are a lot of little coincidences that make up the day-to-day life of any single person, and trying to understand the scope of even just five individual's plans at any given instant is boggling for a single mind to comprehend.

Transpose this scenario into a city, where an average block can hold hundreds of people, each with their own agendas, lives, plans, ideas, goals, ambitions, and destinations. The sheer scope of basic thoughts is enough to crumble even the most intricate of thinkers.

Yet, I can't help but imagine as I'm playing a game, about the lowly NPC. Oftentimes little more than set pieces or background noise to fill in the blank space of a zone or map, the NPC is still an individual. I would think that the reason they are so often understated is because of the sheer scope of programming that would go into making an NPC even have a possible three different scenarios that they want to pursue. A real world with progressive time reflected in a game has so many possibilities even trying to mimic the lowest form of it boggles.