Minecraft is the Scariest Game I've Ever Played. Here's why...

Pages 1 2 NEXT

I've been playing and recording Minecraft for many months now. I just recently played through Amnesia: The Dark Descent and Dead Space 2 and had a great time. They were both extremely scary games, but were entirely different in the ways they try to scare you. Dead Space was more of a "OMG A MONSTER JUST FELL THROUGH THE CEILING!!", and Amnesia does its best to create an atmosphere where you never feel safe and are always dreading the next room.

But what they lack is what both experiences could gain from using each other's scare tactics, and one very important ingredient...

The looming danger of losing everything you carry with you, and everything you've created.

Minecraft has a dark and lonely world, creatures with unique ways of attacking you, and most importantly the threat of losing everything you've worked so hard for. Add these up and you get a scary experience you have to play to understand. I've screamed more in Minecraft than I have in Dead Space and Amnesia combined.

Here are the many scares and screams I've had over my Minecraft adventure thus far... (720p is a must: watch here)

(bonus vid :)

That was pretty funny actually.

The thing that scared me was in Dragon Age. The FUCKING BROODMOTHER. Did they get H.R Giger to design that freak!?

I laughed out loud when you were a second too late to get your diamonds near the lava... does this make me a bad person?

And yeah, Minecraft definitely is the scariest game I've played.

Oh minecraft, how thy scares be so addicting!

Soviet Heavy:

The thing that scared me was in Dragon Age. The FUCKING BROODMOTHER. Did they get H.R Giger to design that freak!?

Ah yeah. I hate that thing. It's so grotesque.

DustyDrB:

Soviet Heavy:

Ah yeah. I hate that thing. It's so grotesque.

I think it was the monotone narration and the dessicated corpses leading up to it that made it even worse.