Skyrim PC install....

Why isn't it installing from the DVD? It's trying to download the game on Steam. I'm new to this whole steam thing so can somebody help me out?

Could you............ elaborate on the process and where you're up to?

I almost forgot, you need to set up a Steam account and install Steam to validate your game before install with Steam as Bethesda chose Steamworks for Skyrim's DRM. You don't really need Steam one you've validated but keep it around just in case.

I would wager that it isn't actually trying to get the whole game from Steam, but rather that Bethsoft chose Steam as their DRM, and it has to be activated there and tied to an account. Download Steam, make yourself an account and enjoy the game!

Thanks for the prompt responses. The issue was the steam servers were busy when it tried to authenticate the game so it started to download the files instead of installing them from the disk. The solution is as follows:

Delete local files for Skyrim
Close Steam
Open run and type: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steam.exe" -install E:

Replace E: with the CD/DVD drive you are installing from if is not correct.

Replace C:\Program Files\Steam if your Steam installation is not in the default location.
Press OK. Steam will launch and ask you to sign in if you do not have your password saved. Your installation should continue from the disc.

Just in case anybody else runs into this.

You, Aftohsix, are my hero ^_^

Love u big time brovis! Talkin to u aftohsix! saved my life BIG time man!