WoW's ingame economy is fucked.

Pages 1 2 NEXT

I mean, seriously. I remember back in the day, a piece of cloth would net you, what, 1 silver in the auction house? Maybe even less?

So a few days ago I started playing again. (Friend got me back into it, told me it helps stomaching ME3s ending. It does.) After hours of selling cloth to standard vendors, my friend told me to go look how much I can sell it for in the auction house.

Well, I shat bricks. One stack nets you a ridiculous 10 gold. What the fuck is going on? What happened? What did I miss? Did the world ending strategy that dragon employed consist of giving everyone a shit ton of gold coins? Did silk become a rarity? I cant wrap my head around it. 10 gold man. 10.

I read that as you put more money into an economy, you increase prices. I also heard that that happens in MMO's, so that's the issue. WoW is having an inflation problem. supply and demand may come into play as well. When was the cloth at 1 silver? as in, when it came out?

worldruler8:
I read that as you put more money into an economy, you increase prices. I also heard that that happens in MMO's, so that's the issue. WoW is having an inflation problem. supply and demand may come into play as well. When was the cloth at 1 silver? as in, when it came out?

Few months after Burning Crusade was released.

At a glance the problem seems to be that the world has a fuckton of level 85's and almost no low levels. That, combined with the severe laziness of those players drives the price of low drops up since no one can be fucked to go into a low level area to farm them.

Thats how I understand it anyway.

Sounds like inflation to me. Between all the the gold farmers, auction sharks and level 85's with epic drops, I can't say I'm surprised.