Very Long Analysis of ME3 Ending, aka why the ending is great (spoilers)

Pages 1 2 3 4 5 NEXT

*Note: I responded to the majority of complaints in post 134.

Mass Effect 3: Great Ending or Greatest Ending

Disclaimer: I have a degree in literature and I minored in film studies. My following analysis could of course be wrong, as works of art are always open to interpretation. I also mainly wrote this analysis for my friends and I in an attempt to explain how we could all think the ending was great when according to the internet we were wrong. I should also point out that I have read the indoctrination theory, but I don't believe enough evidence exists for this theory (but it's fun, just like the Squall is dead theory for VIII is fun). This analysis will be very long, but that's the point it's an in-depth analysis. Please don't bother commenting on the fact you find it too long.

I agree with Ben "Yahtzee" Croshaw's "Mass Effect 3 Get's an Ending" article in the sense that he is correct that in order to understand the ending of Mass Effect 3 you need to understand the narrative themes of the game. I believe this is also a reasonable avenue of analyzing the ending considering that a lot of people on forums and articles seem to hate the ending because they don't understand what the theme of the game is. Many arguments on why people hate the ending mention they don't think it "fits" with the story, or the ending feels like a tonal shift, or the ending jumps the shark. I find all these arguments to be ludicrous. No tonal shift exists here; the ending clearly follows the themes of the narrative.