If you designed an FPS, what would it be like?

Pages 1 2 3 4 5 NEXT

After replaying through the nostalgia trip of Halo Anniversary, it made me think about if I was a game designer what kind of FPS would I design.

Plot - When an evil fast food conglomerate takes over the world, a group of ragtag twenty-somethings and a talking wise-cracking penguin take it upon themselves to save the world.

Gameplay:
- no cover mechanics
- no iron sight aiming
- gameplay consists of two primary styles to keep thing interesting
-running and gunning as the leader of the resistance and the penguin would be dual wield pistols (just go with it) and be used like the imp from The Darkness 2
-stealth sections about gathering intel or assassinating important bad guysin unique areas like monasteries, office buildings, military buildings, and a beach resort
- One rail shooter section in a hovercraft

If you designed an fps, what would it be like?

Abstract, procedurally generated, lots of guns with interesting mechanics, doom-style projectile dodging, co-op, and capable of using player music a la Audiosurf or 1, 2, 3, Kick It (drop that beat like an ugly baby.)

I'd just end up making AvP 2 for the PC because that game fucking rocked. :P

More emphasis on making the player feel connected to the actual game world, rather than simply being a floating camera with a gun.