Simple question about WoW from a WoW newbie

Pages 1 2 NEXT

I recently started playing the starter (lol free) edition of WoW, and I would like one (or more) of you WoW players to clarify:

When exactly does the main plot/storyline actually reveal itself? I'm currently level 13, doing a bunch of variations of "kill X monsters, gather X monster parts, talk to this guy, kill this thing" quests. There are some quests that aren't terrible, but so far the majority has been pretty crappy like this. It doesn't help that there is no voice work.

I'm asking because the end bosses of some of the expansions are storyline related, such as Arthas, Illidan, Kel'thuzad, etc. but so far there is absolutely no overarching plot or anything. I would kind of like to go through the storyline since I played Warcraft 1, 2, and 3, but if I'm going to pay $15 per month I absolutely need to know if the quests get better in the future. Also aside from the promise of a plot, I don't have any other reasons to keep playing, since I'm not a fan of the gameplay.

TL;DR - Is there a plot? when/where is it?

Also as an aside, are all MMO's like this? I won't lie; I can't really justify paying money for this unless it gets better. I started with WoW because its the highest rated and most popular, but IMO its several levels below most singleplayer RPG's.

I will let you in on the big secret. There is a very interesting plot that is going to show up to you as you go on. Here it is.

I love WoW, but I won't lie to you, the story-telling is a god damn mess. The 'plots' can basically be summed up in the beginning quests and final dungeons of each expansion. everything else is just filler if you're looking for story.

If you honestly want the WoW story then the best resource is wiki, because in the game they won't tell you everything and you will most likely skip over the walls of text while playing anyway.
And no this never turns into anything like Warcraft 3 storytelling.