The State of PC gaming

Pages 1 2 3 NEXT

Hi, I'm new to the escapist fourms, so don't expect too much in terms of familiarity of the fourms. I just want to start a discussion and see what others think about this topic.
Let me first clarify that I am a PC gamer and I think that the status of PC gaming is healthy. But I just want your opinions on it. Also, I am presuming that the people here are mostly PC gamers, but if you are not please add in your thoughts, I appreciate it.

The links below comes from two people who talk about video games and the industry. The first one is from the Gameoverthinker, and the other is from Jimquisition. Both are on the topic of PC gaming.

http://blip.tv/gameoverthinker/episo...he-end-6511476 start at 9:00
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D4I64oHN7oY

Place your thoughts here. Is PC gaming dead, dying, alive, or prospering?

Uh...it's fine. Prospering, I guess? I've been a PC Gamer my whole life, and I've never been happier with the quality or quantity of games, nor the price I am able to get them at.

I think thanks to Steam, PC gaming is much more accessible and just plain easier. I got tired of PC gaming back when I used to play it back in the Warcraft 3 days, but I find it is much easier now. Having a decent laptop makes things nice also.

I think PC gaming is growing, with Steam it is starting to feel more and more like console gaming, but with all the benefits of PC gaming. Not to mention Steam shows you all the DLC you can buy for the game and patches all your games for you! Also all the great indie games that seem to be popular these days that don't take much of a powerful PC to play. Like FTL, Terraria, Legend of Grimrock, Dungeons of Dredmor, Binding of Isaac, ect, ect.

I got XCOM for PC this year and it works great. Two years ago I wouldn't have even thought about getting a game like that for PC.