28% (130)
Yes!
33.6% (156)
33.6% (156)
Mebbe Bacon? Made of Spicy Pony?
12.9% (60)
12.9% (60)
Want to vote? Register now or Sign Up with Facebook
Poll: Dark Souls: Time to Put Up or Shut Up.

Pages 1 2 3 4 5 6 NEXT

So, it's that time of the month again.

People want to change Dark Souls. I say NAY! NEVER! and I don't intend to go for any elitism or any such thing. Hell, I was amongst those that never intended to get Demon's Souls (or Dark Souls) because I was - due to reporting and teh interwebz - absolutely certain that those Souls games were a bad, bad joke. Instadeath, permadeath, unfair enemies, insurmountable, giant foes, losing everything upon death, getting punished and pummelled and laughed at by demonic and undead hordes - that didn't exactly sound like a fun experience to me.

However, once I started playing and experiencing and learning, I couldn't stop. To be honest, Dark Souls is the one game I still play pretty much whenever I feel like it. I find it to be fun, zen and there's still new stuff to figure out. At the moment, I am working on perfecting my parrying skills with Queelag's Furysword in my left hand. It's just too sexy to not give it a spin... and a whirl... and a neat little shoulder with some attitude.

And yet - people think just plain enjoying the game is 'elitism'.

So, I guess, it's 'elitism' vs. 'entitlement' - entitlement to have anything changed, even before one makes the effort to figure something out. It's a shame.

So, what's your stance?

EDIT: Ah, my mistake - question should read:

Do you think that Dark Souls should be changed to offer an easy mode?

Oh dear, look what you gone and done... You poked the gelatinous mass, just when it had finally subsided into the depths.

My stance is right there by the emergency exit. Watch me go.

Personally I don't care if they do or don't.

I've already blown through Dark Souls twice and found it pretty easy (NG+, people said it was harder ... they lied)....