Wii U GPU pulled apart by NeoGAF users...

A Wii U thread? By j-e-f-f-e-r-s? I'm sure none of you were expecting this.

Well, I haven't seen anyone else bring this up, so I thought I'd post something that a lot of other websites are running with.

As many of you will know, the exact innards of the Wii U have been a total mystery. Nintendo hasn't released much in the way of official specs, and the info we did have was somewhat vague: tri-core CPU, Radeon GPGPU, 2GB of RAM, not much else.

Well, the guys at NeoGAF decided to pony together and pay to get some detailed shots of the GPU die taken by the good folks at Chipworks. Those same folks at Chipworks then decided to go the whole hog, and do even higher-res photos to allow people to get the best possible look at the GPU.

The end results are... interesting.

I will say that I am not a tech expert by any stretch of the imagination. However, I'll try and summarise the information that the experts have said, and hopefully this will give a better indication of what the innards of the Wii U are like.

Basically, the entire GPU is an almost complete custom job done between AMD and Nintendo. While people are suggesting that it might, as a baseline, be comparable to something like a 4880, apparently there's a whole load of stuff that's been added, messed around and generally tinkered with, that no-one seems quite sure what to make of it. Some people are saying it's barely any better than current gen GPUs, others are saying this is an amazing piece of custom tech.

Here's some info taken directly from the thread OP:

That's just the tip of the iceberg. The whole thread is full of different bits of info, analysis, speculation and such. Pics as well, so you can see for yourself exactly how the chip is laid out.

There seems to be a common opinion which is similar to a guess I made a few months ago, when Nintendo first showed off the Wii U innards- they've once again done a total Gamecube.