So I just started playing XCOM. I need some advice from the vets...

Just like the title says I finally got around to playing it in the free time I ended up having before Bioshock: Infinite launches. I must say, I'm surprised by how "difficult" it is. I say that in quotes for a few reasons. 1) I royally screwed up my first game on normal difficulty by getting all my snipers killed early and not realizing where exactly the aliens can shoot from. I also didn't know satellites were that important. Add to those things not understanding the research methods and going ahead too far in the story to fight the sectoid commanders, and all my good troops died. 2) I feel like the game is difficult because it forces you into making tough choices. Now, I haven't beaten the game or even tried classic yet, so I won't render judgment on that just yet, but I do have mixed feelings.

I've since started my second attempt and things are going much smoother. So here are the questions.

1) Where do people usually like to put their bases. I've gathered that taking advantage of certain starting bonuses can be worked into a strategy like a "build order" in RTS games. I started in US both times

2) I'm trying to stay away from forums and do things myself, but I get the feeling that I should ignore lasers and just go straight to plasma. But i feel that leaves a large gap between upgrades. Plus I like to have my snipers and supports well armed.

3) Alloys are important, how do you get them? Just by shooting down alien ships and raiding their bases? If thats correct then should I be focusing on teching up my interceptors?

4) The shiv, I just built an alloy shiv and it seems to be working great for now. I did it with the intent of fucksmashing the sectoid commanders since they can't be mindcontrolled..but other than that are they a good investment?

5) Just how much should I be capturing aliens? I try and get the obvious ones and collect their weapons.