Other games similar Rome Total War

A little while ago I got rome total war for $1 on steam and I started playing it recently. This is the first kind of game I played that was like this and it's pretty amazing. I'm not very good at this game but it's fun.

I downloaded the mod Europa Barbarorum because it looks pretty good
I just don't know if I should use the mod now or at least eliminate the gauls first in the vanilla game. But at the same time time these guys have now declared war against me and sieged a town important to me making money. Now I have to stop this siege and fight a war on 2 fronts. I am sort of feeling overwhelmed but at least the city they sieged is my one and only city with stone walls.

anyway on to the question
I kinda curious what other games are similar to Rome Total War.
I assume the games in the total war franchise very much like Rome Total War but that is all I got.

Edit- so far I do plan on getting Medieval II: Total War during the summer steam sale or where ever I can buy cheaper at the time

Like you guessed, other Total War games are probably your best bet. The Battle for Middle Earth series are like Total War but a bit more casual and with a LOTR setting.

If you haven't tried out the other Total War games then you should definitely check them out, Medieval 2 is probably the nearest to Rome in terms of mechanics, but they're all good. I can't really think of any other games similar that aren't a Total War, but I'm sure they exist...

Total Wars are pretty unique as far as I know. I'm aware that other "Grand Strategy" type games do exist, stuff like Hearts of Iron and March of the Eagles. But they don't have the combination of the strategy and battle maps like total war does.

So yeah, if you like Rome, get the other Total War games, Medieval 2 especially (the best overall imo, though I love Napoleon just as much due to its setting).

Esotera: