Arkham Origins- combat system

Pages 1 2 NEXT

So I started playing Arkham Origins yesterday to see if the criticisms levelled against it are justified. I haven't got far enough in yet to make an overall judgement but I have noticed (or possibly imagined) a few minor changes to the general combat system which have been frustrating me hugely. I looked it up and found this post on the Warner Bros. Games forum by 'EarthOne' which summarises the issue excellently:

Initially I thought maybe I had just gotten worse at the game, having not played in a while, and assumed I was falsely blaming the game however having found a few other people who've found the same issues I'm now curious: Has anyone else noticed these changes and if so have they been as irritating for you as they have for me?

I've read (on this forum) about some people complaining about the slight tweaks to the combat system basically ruining the game. I was kinda worried about the game as it wasn't Rocksteady and it was a prequel. And from Jim Sterling's review to user opinions, I've basically lost all interest in playing it to be honest. It usually is those little tweaks that end up ruining something that was so great (as everything being in proper alignment is what made the thing great to begin with); it's similar to balancing an online shooter, you make the wrong minor buffs and nerfs and it ruins the game.

Only during the fights with Bane did I notice this. Which was minor. It's still the best Arkham game storywise though, so it should definitely be played by fans.

I didn't have a single problem on the PC version. Maybe it's a console thing. And since it's running at 30fps on a console, things can seem a bit sluggish. But for me Arkham Origins runs so much better than both AA and AC. An the combat, while tougher because enemies don't just wait for their turn to attack, isn't in any way ruining my fun. In fact, I quite enjoy the challenge.

Adam Jensen: