Have you ever made any real friends through / via gaming?

Pages 1 2 NEXT

Hello Escapists!

I've been gaming since I was five years old and when I stopped to think about it today, I've noticed I actually have made zero friends over the course of sixteen years via the use of video games. Oh sure, I have played with plenty of people whom I've gotten along with, but I've actually never had made a real friend through gaming. Now, my definition of having a friend is quite old-fashioned. Today's Facebook-based society allows you to have exactly one thousand friends with one thousand clicks of the mouse. For me, that doesn't cut it. The weird thing is that I find myself quite easy to talk to and talkative in return, so arguments or questions are never a one-way street.

Maybe it's also relevant to mention that I don't really like multiplayer games. In sixteen years of gaming, there are only a literal handful of games that I can point at and play at my heart's content. I usually like single-player experience, pretty much for the same reasons of Ben 'Yahtzee' Croshaw. I find players in competitive and even co-operative games to be either harassing assholes (i.e. StarCraft II) or the fleshshields who pick up all your ammo and health (i.e. any badly designed co-op game).

When it comes down to it, my question to you, Escapists, is:

1) Have you made any REAL friends through gaming (in any form of gaming)?
2) If yes, under what circumstances did you find this person?

I suppose the "real friend" definition is questionable here but...

I have a group of friends I played Call of Duty 4 with back in my college years. I'm from Minnesota and they're from Ohio so I've never seen them in real life (I've seen pictures and whatnot from Facebook). If they stopped playing games, I'd have stopped buying Call of Duty ages ago. Ghost is on my shelf in spite of itself; not because I'm a CoD fan anymore.