News

Modern Warfare 3 PC Goes Free for a Weekend

| 25 Apr 2012 20:50
image

Never got around to checking out Modern Warfare 3? Play it on Steam for free this weekend.

When it comes to big-budget modern gaming, it doesn't get much bigger than Activision's Call of Duty series. Of course, not everybody is playing COD, which doesn't jibe with the publisher's eventual goal of world domination. If you're one of the people who hasn't played Modern Warfare 3, Activision and Steam are making the multiplayer free to play all this coming weekend.

The Modern Warfare 3 free weekend starts at 1 PM Eastern (10 AM Pacific, 6 PM UK) tomorrow, Thursday the 26th. If you're interested, you can begin preloading the game on Steam here. This will, as previously stated, only cover the multiplayer modes of the game - you're free to insert your own joke about campaign length here.

Even if it sometimes seems that everybody and their grandparents is playing the latest Black Warmissions or Modern Ponyfighter, there are plenty of people who don't. Maybe they're too busy playing Skyrim when it comes out, and then Mass Effect 3 right afterwards, and with Diablo III right around the corner - well, who can find the time?

If you have the time, though, you can give it a shot this weekend. And then perhaps pick up the full game for $59.99. Remember, the first hit is always free.

Sorry, console gamers. This is a PC-only affair. Better luck next time.

(Via Eurogamer)

RELATED CONTENT
Comments on